

Board Meeting Protocol 2017-02-13 Bolin Centre for Climate Research

Time 30 January 2017, 9–12

Place Tarfala room T433, Geoscience building, Stockholm University

Attending board Cynthia de Wit, Chair

members Jonas Nycander, Dep. of Meteorology, Stockholm University

Ove Eriksson, Head, Dep. of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, Stockholm U.

Gia Destouni, Head, Dep. of Physical Geography, Stockholm University

Michael McLachlan, Head, Dep. of Env. Science and Anal. Chemistry, Stockholm U. Erik Kjellström, Head of Rossby Centre, Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Inst.

Other Nina Kirchner, Director of Research

participants Karin Jonsell, Coordinator & Communicator

Arne Johansson, Rep., Royal Institute of Technology

Alasdair Skelton, Rep., Dep. of Geological Sciences, Stockholm University

Karl Gotthard, Rep., Dep. of Zoology, Stockholm University

Absent Runa Jacobsson, Economy Administrator, Dep. of Geological Sciences, Stockholm U.

Student representative

Secretary Karin Jonsell

	·
§ 1	Meeting opens
	The chair welcomed everyone.
§ 2	Representatives
	All members present introduced themselves.
	• Karl Gotthard, researcher at Dep. of Zoology, was called to represent Zootis at this meeting in the absence of Birgitta Tullberg and Linda Laikre.
	<ul> <li>Arne Johansson, Professor at KTH was called to represent KTH at this meeting in the absence of Dan Henningson.</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Alasdair Skelton, Professor at IGV, was called to represent IGV at this meeting in the</li> </ul>
	absence of Martin Jakobsson and Magnus Mörth.
§ 3	Appointment of protocol writer
	Karin Jonsell was appointed as protocol writer.
§ 4	Appointment of protocol checker
	Jonas Nycander was appointed as attester.
§ 5	Approval of the agenda
	The agenda for this meeting was approved with the additions of items 10 e and f.
§ 6	Protocol from the previous meeting
	The protocol from the previous meeting has been written and attested and will be sent out to the Board.
§ 7	Approval of revised version of new statutes for the Bolin Centre
	Chair Cynthia de Wit presented the revised draft statutes for the new Bolin Centre for Climate Research, which have been rephrased in accordance to the budget proposition from the Government,



as well as several small changes suggested by the Pro-Vice Chancellor, see Appendix 1a and 1b.

• The Board approved the revised statutes, with the exception of the second sentence of section 3: "Sedan 2013-01-01 är IGV värdinstitution.". The Board instead suggests: "Värdinstitution föreslås av Bolincentrets styrelse för beslut i Naturvetenskapliga områdesnämnden."

## § 8 Follow up on new members of the ESAG

Previously the Science Advisory Group suggested two new members for the External Science Advisory Group, Deliang Chen and Andrea Rinaldo, see Appendix 2a. They have been contacted and both accepted the invitation. The ESAG now consists of the following members:

Anders Lindroth, Eystein Jansen, Raymond Pierrehumbert, Camille Parmesan, Karen Kohfeld, Deliang Chen and Andrea Rinaldo.

## § 9 Decision about offer by Leonard Barrie to join the ESAG

The Directors have been contacted by our former Science Director, Professor Leonard Barrie who has offered to join the ESAG. The SAG has discussed the offer and considers Professor Barrie too close to the Bolin Centre to be a member of the ESAG at this stage. However, the SAG encourages the Directors to invite Professor Barrie as a guest lecturer at the next Bolin Days.

• The Board decided to follow the recommendation of the Science Advisory Group.

## § 10 Information

a) Coordinator/communicator position

Out of 62 applicants a recruitment committee consisting of Karin Jonsell, Alasdair Skelton, Nina Kirchner, Viktoria Arwinge (Head of Economy and personnel administrator at IGV) and Sören Nylin (Section Dean for Biology) has chosen Annika Burström as the new coordinator and communicator at the Bolin Centre. She will start her 50 % position 2017-03-01. Annika is currently working at Föreningen för Utvecklingsfrågor, FUF.

- b) STINT application strategic grants for internationalization Nina Kirchner and Martin Jakobsson are working on an application to STINT on the call Strategic Grants for Internationalisation, focusing thematically on the Arctic. More specific directions will be worked out in cooperation with Forskningsservice, who has extensive experience with STINT, see Appendix 3.
- c) Faculty's Action Point for 2017-18: "Utveckla samarbetet mellan universitetets vetenskaps-områden, via Bolincentret, inom klimatområdet och rörande Östersjön inom BEAM." The Dean of the Faculty of Science is very clear that the Faculty wants the Bolin Centre to start expanding its contacts with the Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Social Sciences. The Directors of the Bolin Centre are currently meeting Research Area Co-leaders to discuss how to best initiate this.
- d) Bolin Centre Newsletter, no 1 2017

The Bolin Centre Newsletter has been revived and will be issued after every SAG meeting. The first edition contains only information from the SAG, but future issues will include news from members as well.

- e) Invitation to Bert Bolin Lecture lunch 18 May
  The Board is invited to lunch at the Faculty club at 12:30 on 18 May to meet Dr. Thomas Cronin,
  the Bert Bolin Climate Lecturer of 2017.
- f) Database application
  The Database coordinator Anders Moberg is currently coordinating a major application to VR's call for infrastructure of national interest. In 2015, VR announced a pre-call to obtain suggestions



	for areas to be covered. The Bolin Centre wrote an application titled <i>Swedish Climate Research Database: Preservation, integration, analysis and exchange of data.</i> This application obtained the highest possible rank, and SU is therefore entitled to submit a full application for becoming the main center or a national node for climate data. Deadline 7 March.
§ 11	Any other business There was no other business.
§ 12	Next meeting Next Board meetings will be 13–16 on Tuesday 7 March 2017 in the Tarfala room, (T433 in Geoscience building).

Karin Jonsell, Secretary Jonas Nycander, Attester Cynthia de Wit, Chair of the Board